How to get into a PhD program

The Thesis Whisperer

Imagine my constant surprise, seven years later, at how much still remains unsaid about doing a thesis – even about the basics, such as how to get into a PhD program. Consider this letter which, eerily, happened to land in my inbox just as I was preparing my pitch for prospective students for ANU Open Day this coming weekend.

Getting into a PhD program can be very complicated. I’d value regular readers sharing their stories in the comments – I think think this is a good example of where newbies can learn a lot from existing students’ experiences… Here’s the letter I received:

Hi Inger,

Long-time reader, first time contacting you. I am just getting my bits and bobs finalised to apply for entry into a PhD at (an Australian University) as a mature-ish age (36) student.  I have found the application process in itself daunting!  I think it’s…

View original post 1,562 more words

Leave a Reply

